Rick Johnson Acclaimed as President of the Ontario Public School Boards' Association

Toronto, June 13, 2006- The Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA) is pleased to announce that Rick Johnson has been acclaimed as President of OPSBA at the Annual General Meeting held on June 9, 2005. Rick Johnson has made a lifetime commitment to democracy and public education. His service and contributions to education are outstanding.

On behalf of 1.3 million Ontario students and their families, Rick has worked successfully with parents, school boards and the provincial government to identify areas in the education system requiring improvement and develop solutions that work for children. Over the years, his goal is unchanged; creating a first-class education system.

Rick, a trustee from the Trillium Lakelands District School Board, will be supported in his position as President of OPSBA by Joan Hodge from the Upper Canada District School Board, acclaimed as First Vice-President and Colleen Schenk from the Avon Maitland District School Board, acclaimed as Second Vice-President.

In addition to the President, First and Second Vice-Presidents, OPSBA's Executive Council includes: Gerri Gershon, Past President, Toronto District School Board; Bill Crothers, Vice-President, Central East Region, York Region District School Board; Judy Galoska, Vice-President, Western Region, Bluewater District School Board; Ed Arnold, Vice-President, Northern Region, Keewatin-Patricia District School Board; Jennifer Waterston, Vice-President, Central West Region, Upper Grand District School Board; Carl Pitman, Vice-President, Eastern Region, Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board; and Howard Goodman, Vice-President (Enrolment), Toronto District School Board.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Jeff Sprang
(416) 340-2540