Call for OPSBA Awards Nominations


​Know an amazing trustee, teacher, education worker, student or community member who deserves to be recognized for making a difference in their local school or community?

Nominations for our 2019 Awards are open! The nomination form can be accessed on SurveyMonkey now.

The OPSBA Awards strive to recognize the outstanding contributions to the public education system made by individuals across Ontario.

The nomination deadline for all awards, except for the Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award, is April 4, 2019 at 5 p.m.

The nomination deadline for the Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is:
June 13, 2019 at 5 p.m.

For complete information about the Awards Program, click here.

Before completing the nomination form, please take a few moments to review the criteria for each of the Awards. The following is a brief summary:

The President’s Award recognizes 25 years of service as a trustee in public education.

The Jack A. MacDonald Award of Merit honours an elementary or secondary school student attending an Ontario public school who has earned a sound academic record and has shown outstanding service and leadership in his or her community.

The Fred L. Bartlett Memorial Award is presented annually to an active or retired member of the teaching profession. The successful candidate is selected on the basis of outstanding contribution to education throughout Ontario, such as constructive participation in education affairs over a number of years or for dedication to some recent and specific project that has had provincial impact.

The Dr. Harry Paikin Award of Merit is awarded to an active or retired public school trustee for outstanding service.

The Achievement Award/Award of Excellence recognizes the outstanding contributions of non-teaching staff, parents, volunteers and community partners involved in education in Member Boards. This award provides an opportunity to raise awareness and promote the importance of celebrating excellence and the necessity of recognizing the work of all members of the education community.

The Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award honours dedication, commitment and an outstanding contribution to education with special recognition for Northern Ontario service.

Start the nomination process now