March 31, 2022

Memorandum to: Directors of Education

Secretary/Treasurers of School Authorities

From: Nancy Naylor

Deputy Minister

Subject: CMOH's Memorandum on Using Schools in Ontario for

Election Purposes

Attached please find communication released by Dr. Moore to Elections Ontario regarding the use of schools as polling places.

I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge that schools have traditionally been used as polling places during municipal, provincial and federal elections. This reflects the integral nature of schools in their communities and the desire for them to serve as community hubs.

I would also like to remind you that school boards have a legislated responsibility to make school space available for polling places. For more information, please refer to: subs. 13(4)-(4.1) of the *Election Act*; para. 17.2 of sub. 170(1) of the *Education Act*; and the legislation generally.

The Ministry of Education looks forward to the continued collaboration between Elections Ontario, the Chief Medical Officer of Health and Ontario school boards to ensure the safe and effective conduct of the upcoming provincial election.

If you have any further questions, please contact Jonathan Lear, Acting Manager in the Governance – Operations and Boards Supports Unit in the Education Equity Secretariat at Jonathan.lear@ontario.ca.

Sincerely,

Nancy Naylor

Deputy Minister

c: Executive Director, Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario (ACÉPO)

Executive Director, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

Executive Director, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

Executive Director, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

Executive Director, Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE)

Executive Director and Secretary-Treasurer, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

General Secretary, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA)

General Secretary, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

General Secretary, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)

Chair, Ontario Council of Educational Workers (OCEW)

Chair, Education Workers' Alliance of Ontario (EWAO)

Co-ordinator, Canadian Union of Public Employees - Ontario (CUPE-ON)

Executive Director, Association des directions et directions adjointes des écoles franco-ontariennes (ADFO)

Executive Director, Catholic Principals' Council of Ontario (CPCO)

Executive Director, Ontario Principals' Council (OPC)