Call for OPSBA Awards Nominations

2021 1/29 | Connects Page, OPSBA Awards, OPSBA News

Know an Ontario public school student, teacher, education worker, parent, volunteer or trustee who deserves recognition for making a difference in their community?

Nominations are now being accepted for the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association’s Awards Program. OPSBA’s Awards strive to recognize the outstanding contributions to the public education system made by individuals across Ontario.

The nomination deadline for all the awards, except for the Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award, is April 1, 2021 at 5 p.m.

The nomination deadline for the Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is June 10, 2021 at 5 p.m.

Please note: The President’s Award is presented at the Public Education Symposium in January, so the deadline for nominations this year is December 16, 2021.

Complete information about the awards listed below, including access to the online nomination form, is available on the OPSBA Awards webpage.

The President’s Award recognizes persons with 25 years of service in public education. 

The Jack A. MacDonald Award of Merit honours an elementary or secondary school student attending an Ontario public school who has earned a sound academic record and has shown outstanding service and leadership in his or her community.

The Fred L. Bartlett Memorial Award is presented annually to an active or retired member of the teaching profession. The successful candidate is selected on the basis of outstanding contribution to education throughout Ontario, such as constructive participation in education affairs over a number of years or for dedication to some recent and specific project that has had provincial impact.

The Dr. Harry Paikin Award of Merit is awarded to an active or retired public school trustee for outstanding service.

The OPSBA Award of Excellence and Achievement Award were created by OPSBA to recognize the outstanding contributions of non-teaching staff, parents, volunteers and community partners involved in education in Member Boards. This award provides an opportunity to raise awareness and promote the importance of celebrating excellence and the necessity of recognizing the work of all members of the education community.

The Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is for dedication, commitment and an outstanding contribution to education with special recognition for Northern Ontario service.

Start the nomination process now

For more information: Mary Adams, Awards Coordinator, 416-340-2540, ext.101, or email the OPSBA webmaster.​