President’s Award

President's Award.jpg

Vision, commitment, dedication, selflessness. These are the qualities that give us the inspiration to take up the role of trustee. The sense of accomplishment in our work as trustees very much comes from our personal and private recognition of a job well done. And sometimes it comes from public recognition by our peers.

The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association represents all trustees engaged in public education in this province. Our Association wants to honour some very special colleagues – the trustees who have stood by their vision and selflessly given of themselves to the students and parents of Ontario for more than 25 years.

We are privileged, on behalf of all trustees in the province, to present the OPSBA President’s Award in recognition of 25 years of service in public education. The President’s Award, formerly known as the Dinosaur Club Award, was established at the Fall Northern Region Conference in October 2001.

Online Nomination Form

The nomination deadline for the 2024 President’s Award will be announced soon.

Terms of Award

Induction ceremonies are held at OPSBA’s annual Public Education Symposium in January. The President’s Award will be forwarded to boards of recipients not attending this event.

Nomination Information Checklist


This invitation is open to trustees who have not yet received this award, and who have completed 25 years or more of service.


Year Trustee School Board

Judy Hunda

Dena Morrison

Rainbow DSB

Rainbow DSB


Jane Bryce

Rose Kitney

Angela Lloyd

Susan Thayer

Marilyn McComb

Lambton Kent DSB

Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB

Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB

Algoma DSB

Bluewater DSB

2021 Colleen Schenk Avon Maitland DSB

Lynn Scott

Russell Reid

David Shields

Ottawa-Carleton DSB

Algoma DSB

Renfrew County DSB


Graham Lidstone

John Hendry

Algoma DSB

Waterloo Region DSB

2018 Joyce Bennett Thames Valley DSB

Bruce Schieck

Susan Moziar

Upper Grand DSB

Upper Grand DSB


Judy Saunders

Gale Simko-Hatfield​

Trillium Lakelands

Greater Essex County DSB

2015 Ron Oikonen​ Lakehead DSB​
2014 Judith Bishop ​Hamilton-Wentworth DSB

​Debra Edwards

Wanda McQueen

Saunders Porter

Doreen Dewar

​Simcoe County DSB

Algoma DSB

DSB Ontario North East

Rainbow DSB


Lora Campbell

Rosemary Pochopsky

Randy Sheppard

DSB of Niagara

DSB Ontario North East

Near North DSB

Recipients of the Dinosaur Award

Year Trustee School Board
2002 Bob Whitehead Algoma DSB
George Seaton Connell & Ponsford DSAB
Dalton Clark DSB of Niagara
Helen Hall DSB of Niagara
Ray Mulholland Hamilton-Wentworth DSB
Reg Woodworth Hamilton-Wentworth DSB
Roy Wilfong Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB
Richard Whittington Lambton Kent DSB
Angeline Desbiens Missarenda DSAB
Ruth Thompson Peel DSB
Gord McBride Rainy River DSB
2003 Samuel J. J. Clements Hastings & Prince Edward DSB
Bill Mokomela Lakehead DSB
Duncan Longwell Lambton Kent DSB
Irene Atkinson Toronto DSB
Art Buckland Upper Canada DSB
2004 Tom Kilpatrick Greater Essex DSB
Bill Castagne Missarenda DSAB
2005 Bill Dawes Keewatin-Patricia DSB
Elaine Crawford Limestone DSB
2006 Albert Schaffer DSB Ontario North East
2007 Armand Giguere Caramat DSAB
Peter Jaffe Thames Valley DSB
Kerry Peacock Campbell Children’s SA
Terry Swanson Nakina DSAB
2009 Thelma Goodfellow Hastings & Prince Edward DSB
Juergen Leukert DSB Ontario North East
2011 Heather Bozzer DSB Ontario North East
Beryl Ford Peel DSB
Gerri Gershon Toronto DSB
Dave Penny Keewatin-Patricia DSB