Cathy Abraham remains President of OPSBA


OPSBA President Cathy Abraham in a purple blazer

The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA) is pleased to announce that Cathy Abraham will continue in her current role after being acclaimed as President for the 2022-23 and 2023-24 school years. President Abraham has served as OPSBA President since June 2018 and was acclaimed at the Association’s 2022 Annual General Meeting on Friday, June 10, in Ottawa.

A four-term Trustee and three-time Chair of the Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board (KPRDSB), President Abraham’s experience, knowledge, and steady leadership is invaluable to OPSBA throughout the next year as school boards continue to grapple with the effects of COVID-19 on the public education system.

“Thank you to our dedicated members for their continued confidence in our leadership. It is an honour to be able to lead our advocacy for students and schools in Ontario,” says President Abraham. “We’ll be using the coming months to continue to push and advocate for the priorities that matter most to our member boards and look to ensure there is a strong focus from this government on maintaining our world class public education system.”

In addition to her work with the KPRDSB, President Abraham has served OPSBA and the wider community in the following roles:

  • Three previous terms as OPSBA President (2019, and 2020, and 2020-2022)
  • Two terms as OPSBA Second Vice-President (2016-2018)
  • OPSBA Education Program Work Team Chair
  • OPSBA Policy Development Work Team Member
  • OPSBA Central East Region Vice-President (2007-2010)
  • OPSBA Trustee Labour Negotiation Representative
  • Variety of other leadership opportunities including with Rotary, Newcastle Community Hall, and as a founder of the Newcastle Family Connection resource centre

Serving alongside President Abraham, and elected for the 2022-23 and 2023-24 school years, are First Vice-President Kathleen Woodcock of the Waterloo Region District School Board and Second Vice-President Kathryn Pierroz of the Rainy River District School Board.

OPSBA’s Executive Council/leadership team for the 2022-23 school year will also include: Jaine Klassen Jeninga, Regional Chair, Central East Region (Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board); Arlene Morell, Regional Chair, Western Region (Thames Valley District School Board); George Saarinen, Regional Chair, Northern Region (Lakehead District School Board); Donna Danielli, Regional Chair, Central West Region (Halton District School Board); Susan Humphries, Regional Chair, Eastern Region (Renfrew County District School Board); Michelle Aarts, Vice-President, Enrolment (Toronto District School Board); David Green, Vice-President, Enrolment (Peel District School Board); and Elaine Johnston, Chair of the Indigenous Trustees’ Council of OPSBA.