Cathy Abraham Re-elected President of OPSBA


OPSBA President Cathy Abraham in a purple blazer

Toronto, September 28, 2020 – The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA) is pleased to announce that Cathy Abraham has been re-elected President for the 2020-21 and 2021-22 school years in its first ever virtual Annual General Meeting held on September 26, 2020, via Zoom.

A four-term Trustee and three-time Chair of the Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board (KPRDSB), President Abraham’s experience and knowledge of our public education system will be invaluable to OPSBA throughout the next two years.

“Over the coming two years, we will continue to be vigilant in moving our Association’s priorities forward, even as we continue to tackle the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic,” said President Abraham. “We must never forget that we are, and will always remain, the champions of public education in Ontario. We are advocates for each and every student who enters our schools.”

In addition to her work with the KPRDSB, President Abraham has served OPSBA and the wider community in the following roles:

  • Two previous terms as OPSBA President
  • Two terms as OPSBA Second Vice-President (2016-2018)
  • OPSBA Education Program Work Team Chair
  • OPSBA Policy Development Work Team Member
  • OPSBA Central East Region Vice-President (2007-2010)
  • OPSBA Trustee Labour Negotiation Representative
  • Variety of other leadership opportunities including with Rotary, Newcastle Community Hall, and as a founder of the Newcastle Family Connection resource centre

Serving alongside President Abraham, and also elected for two-year terms, were First Vice-President Michael Barrett of the Durham District School Board and Second Vice-President Kathleen Woodcock of the Waterloo Region District School Board. 

OPSBA’s Executive Council/leadership team for the 2020-21 school year will also include: Donna Edwards, Regional Chair, Central East Region (Durham District School Board); Robert Hunking, Regional Chair, Western Region (Avon Maitland District School Board); Sheryl Evans, Regional Chair, Northern Region (Algoma District School Board); Donna Danielli, Regional Chair, Central West Region (Halton District School Board); David Shields, Regional Chair, Eastern Region (Renfrew County District School Board); Stephanie Donaldson, Vice-President, Enrolment (Toronto District School Board); and David Green, Vice-President, Enrolment (Peel District School Board).

Elaine Johnston, Indigenous trustee with the Algoma District School Board, was selected by the Indigenous Trustees’ Council as OPSBA’s First Nations Director earlier in September. Trustee Johnston’s dedication and commitment to the role will continue to strengthen public education for Indigenous students and foster broader perspectives for all students.

The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association represents English public district school boards and public school authorities across Ontario, which together serve more than 1.3 million public elementary and secondary students. The Association advocates on behalf of the best interests and needs of the public school system in Ontario. OPSBA is seen as the credible voice of public education in Ontario and is routinely called on by the provincial government for input and advice on legislation and the impact of government policy directions.

For more information, please contact:

Shane Gonsalves
Managing Director, Government and Public Affairs

T.J. Goertz
Senior Communications and Policy Officer