Colleen Schenk Elected President of the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association


Toronto, December 3, 2007- The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA) is pleased to announce that Colleen Schenk has been elected as President of OPSBA at a meeting held on December 1, 2007. Colleen’s service and contributions to public education span more than fourteen years and are hallmarked by her “children first” approach.

Colleen Schenk believes that student achievement is the Association’s primary responsibility. On behalf of 1.3 million Ontario students and their families, Colleen is committed to working successfully with parents, school boards and the provincial government to focus on areas in the education system requiring improvement, develop solutions that work for children and strengthen public confidence in Ontario’s schools.

Colleen, a trustee from the Avon Maitland District School Board, will be supported in her position as President of OPSBA by Vice-President Loralea Carruthers from the York Region District School Board and Vice-President Catherine Fife from the Waterloo Region District School Board. Loralea Carruthers, who was elected Vice-President in June 2007 and newly-elected Vice-President, Catherine Fife, will provide strong educational leadership, progressive ideas and focused energy to the Association’s commitment to student success.

In addition to the President and Vice-Presidents, OPSBA’s Executive Council includes: Rick Johnson, Past President, Trillium Lakelands District School Board; Cathy Abraham, Vice-President, Central East Region, Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board; Julia Burgess, Vice-President, Western Region, Greater Essex County District School Board; Lori Lukinuk, Vice-President, Northern Region, Lakehead District School Board; Jennifer Waterston, Vice-President, Central West Region, Upper Grand District School Board; Carl Pitman, Vice-President, Eastern Region, Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board; and Howard Goodman, Vice-President (Enrolment), Toronto District School Board.

– 30 –

For more information, please contact:

Jeff Sprang
OPSBA Communications
(416) 340-2540