MPPs rose for summer recess after June 9, 2016. They will return to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario on September 12, 2016. There will be one by-election for the vacant seat of Scarborough-Rouge River held by former MPP Bas Balkisssoon who resigned on March 22. The government has six months to call this by-election.

On June 13, 2016, Premier Wynne announced changes to her cabinet that includes MPP Mitzie Hunter becoming Minister of Education. MPP Liz Sandals becomes President of the Treasury Board. MPP Mitzie Hunter represents the riding of Scarborough-Guildwood. She became an MPP in August 2013 and has been a Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Community and Social Services and most recently was the Associate Minister of Finance, responsible for the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan. OPSBA will be reaching out to the new Minster of Education and her staff this week.

Later that day, other changes to public service executive appointments were announced. George Zegarac becomes the Deputy Minister of Infrastructure and Nancy Matthews has been appointed Deputy Minister of Education on an interim basis.